Only 25 days to go until National Poetry Day on 28 September

National Poetry Day 2017 25 days to go Bernard Young

I’m looking forward to a trip up to Newcastle-upon-Tyne to do a workshop on National Poetry Day at Atkinson Road Primary Academy. They booked me through Authors Aloud, one of the sites that I’m registered with. I can also be booked direct via the contact page on this website. I do still have some availability before and after 28th September, if you want a school visit.

National Poetry Day is an annual event. Usually it is the first Thursday in October, but it was brought forward by a week this year. I have written more about this previously here, so I won’t repeat myself. There are some ideas for lessons on the theme of Freedom on that post, and also there are lots of ideas and resources on the National Poetry Day website for teachers planning lessons.

I hope you all can say it with a poem every day, but especially on National Poetry Day!

Leave a Reply

