NaPoWriMo, April is USA National Poetry Writing Month, 30 poems in 30 days

National Poetry Writing Month NaPoWriMo

It’s good to see that WordPress.com is promoting poetry and National Poetry Writing Month (see blog post here http://en.blog.wordpress.com/2014/04/01/napowrimo-2014/ #NaPoWriMo).

According to the information on http://www.napowrimo.net/about/, “NaPoWriMo, or National Poetry Writing Month, is an annual project in which participating poets attempt to write a poem a day for the month of April.

NaPoWriMo was founded in 2003, when poet Maureen Thorson decided to take up the challenge (modeled after NaNoWriMo, or National Novel Writing Month), and challenged other poets to join her. Since then, the number of participants has gotten larger every year, and many writers’ organizations, local, national and even international, organize NaPoWriMo activities.”

By the way, the National part refers to America not UK, but nevermind, I’m joining in anyway. I’ve a bit of catching up to do to go for 30 poems in 30 days, but obviously I will be cheating as I have a lot of poems up my sleeve already and I post a poem most days anyway on blipfoto.com.

To catch up, rather than doing multiple posts on the same day, I’m going to do several poems in each post for the next few days – 3 poems today. And I’ve tagged yesterday’s post giving it a multipurpose of being for UK National Stationery Week as well. So that’s 4 down, 26 to go!

Time Traveller

When he first learned to drive
(it was so long ago
Robin Hood was still alive!)
the roads were quiet but narrow.

Nowadays he travels far and wide
on roads as straight as an arrow
but it’s not always a pleasant ride.
And some journeys are oh so slow!

Posted on blipfoto.com http://www.blipfoto.com/entry/4181958 and inspired by this image (can you see why I mentioned Robin Hood?)

Old man in old car reflected in car mirror

Premature

I always think
of that line from Macbeth
about Macduff
being untimely ripped
from his mother’s womb
when I’m forced to leave
my bed too soon.
I prefer to stay up late
and sleep till noon
but it’s best
to beat the traffic.

Anyway, I’d better
watch what I say
– some poor souls
have to do this
every day.

Originally appeared on blipfoto here: http://www.blipfoto.com/entry/4155217

 

A Burning Issue

Smoke and fire.

They go together
like a horse and carriage.

You can’t have one
without the other.

A bit like marriage
and divorce, of course.

Originally appeared on blipfoto here: http://www.blipfoto.com/entry/4097263

One thought on “NaPoWriMo, April is USA National Poetry Writing Month, 30 poems in 30 days

  1. Pingback: 2 poems and then I’m caught up with NaPoWriMo (day 9) | Bernard Young Poet

Leave a Reply

