Bonfire night: fireworks, sparklers, toffee and poems

All the fireworks popping in the sky where I live makes me think what a stimulating time to be creating poems. So I’ve written a new poem for children for bonfire night that doesn’t appear in any of my books (since I wrote it today).

Choosing Fireworks

I bet
you’d like
a Confetti Canon
and a Crackling Comet.

I’m sure
you’d go for
a Jumping Jack
and a Flying Saucer.

I guess
you could handle a Sparkler
and get a thrill
from a Roman Candle.

And you’d feel
fine watching a Catherine Wheel
go round and round and round
wouldn’t you?

But what you don’t want,
you really don’t want,
because it’s definitely no good,
is a…

DUD!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Some other bonfire night poetry resources

And a Video about the origins

Leave a Reply

